Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Trip Descriptions

The VOLbreaks Program hosts trips over fall, winter, spring and summer break, as well as local trips that stay in the Knoxville area.

Fall VOLbreak: Thursday, October 17–Sunday, October 20, 2019.

Winter VOLbreak: Friday December 13-Wednesday December 18, 2019

Spring VOLbreak: Sunday, March 15–Saturday, March 21, 2020.

Summer VOLbreak: TBD

Local VOLbreaks: TBD

Costs of VOLbreaks

The 2019-2020 baseline price, per participant is, $150 for fall trips and $250 for spring trips. The VOLbreaks program reserves the right to increase fees based on unforeseen trip expenses, but will make every effort to publicize this before accepting applications. Local trips cost $25 per person that covers all meals, housing, and transportation during the experience. Winter and Summer costs are TBD.

VOLbreaks Trip Descriptions

Below you will find access to service themes, trip leaders, and their contact information for the 2019-2020 VOLbreak trips. If you have questions regarding a specific trip, feel free to contact the leaders to learn more about their trip! There will be detailed trip descriptions available in August!

Name Trip Theme Season UTK Email
Charlsi Patterson Immigrant and Refugee Fall cpatte23@vols.utk.edu
Christina Cho Immigrant and Refugee Fall ccho4@vols.utk.edu
Billium Blankenship Wealth Distribution Fall wblanke2@vols.utk.edu
Nia Myrthil Wealth Distribution Fall nmyrthil@vols.utk.edu
Camryn Cupp Public Health Fall ccupp6@vols.utk.edu
Sydnie Toler Public Health Fall stoler@vols.utk.edu
Alyssa Weakley Food Insecurity Fall aweakle2@vols.utk.edu
Kenzie Bastian Food Insecurity Fall kbastia2@vols.utk.edu
Mustafa Salameh Education Fall msalame2@vols.utk.edu
Kennadi Hawkins Education Fall khawki19@vols.utk.edu
Michael Almond Environment Fall mks964@vols.utk.edu
Maria Valerio Environment Fall mks964@vols.utk.edu
Simphany Gillard Disability Awareness Fall sgillard@vols.utk.edu
Caroline Parker Disability Awareness Fall cparke54@vols.utk.edu
Madison Woods LGBTQ+ Advocacy Fall zyd245@vols.utk.edu
Joseph Paschall LGBTQ+ Advocacy Fall jpascha4@vols.utk.edu
Mattie Roediger Affordable Housing Fall mroedige@vols.utk.edu
Sarah Kennedy Affordable Housing Fall skenne20@vols.utk.edu
Emily Watson Animal Welfare Spring ewatso27@vols.utk.edu
Kaitlyn Knight Animal Welfare Spring kaimknig@vols.utk.edu
Simeon Glover Women’s Empowerment Spring sglove10@vols.utk.edu
Maggie Monaghan Women’s Empowerment Spring mmonagh1@vols.utk.edu
Grey Mangan Education Spring emangan1@vols.utk.edu
Joelle Jarjoura Education Spring jjarjour@vols.utk.edu
Jake Tidwell Arches Spring jtidwe14@vols.utk.edu
Kendall Wimberley Arches Spring kwimber3@vols.utk.edu
Liv Bell Diversity and Inclusion Spring obell1@vols.utk.edu
Maya Bian Environment Spring mbian@vols.utk.edu
Kaylee Walper Environment Spring kwalper@vols.utk.edu
Cody Ramangkoun Immigration Spring cramangk@vols.utk.edu
Katherine Fulcher Immigration Spring katvfulc@vols.utk.edu
Carmen Danley Wealth Distribution Spring cdanley@vols.utk.edu
Viet Quach Wealth Distribution Spring vquach2@utk.edu
Kayla Sims Education Spring ksims14@vols.utk.edu
Wesley Smith Education Spring jsmit511@vols.utk.edu
Maria Urias* Public Policy (Honors) Spring murias@vols.utk.edu
Simon Jolly* Public Policy (Honors) Spring sjolly3@vols.utk.edu
Caitlin Lloyd Immigration Winter clloyd9@vols.utk.edu
Taylor Dempsey Immigration Winter tdempse3@vols.utk.edu

To keep the focus of the program on service rather than location, participants do not learn the location of their trip until they have committed to the trip and attended the first trip meeting. Previous destinations have included Asheville, North Carolina; Washington, DC; Charleston, South Carolina; New Orleans; Nashville; Chicago; and more.

“This was an unforgettable experience! It helped reassure me that UT was a good fit. It now feels more like a home after the way serving together helped us develop friendships” – Participant